top of page

USING SOCIAL LISTENING STRATEGICALLY

08/12/2021
READING TIME: 4 MIN
AUTHORS: Christoph Witte, Founder and Managing Director
PinkTank_Insight_Social-Listening.png

Using social listening strategically

How do you find out what the world is saying about your company, brand, portfolio, or campaign? In social media channels and online news? By listening to them.

In health communication, we move in a highly competitive and heavily regulated environment. The ideal way to sound out the acceptance of a particular brand and its communication in the digital environment and to interpret what moves the target groups is through social listening. This reflects the way patients and their families talk about us. But how can social listening be designed in a way that is both efficient and value-adding?

Starting point = set your objectives

 

The key element of any planning process is the strategic objective. Is the aim to analyze the short-term success of a campaign or to optimize its social media presence? A specialist agency partner with experience in leading social listening platforms such as Brandwatch, NetBase Quid, Sprinklr or Talkwalker can help here. The next step is a kick-off meeting with all relevant parties in the marketing, digital and social media teams, who will shape the social listening concept together.

 

 

 

 

 

Campaign measurement

 

Ideally, the social listening should start at around the same time as the campaign and run for a good two to four months. Important terms and parameters are defined to create a basis for measurable results: these include the indication along with key words, brand name and competition. The success indicators can then be clearly defined: how is the message coming across, what is the range like, what does the share of voice tell us? At the end of the process, a comprehensive report shows the quantitative and qualitative success of the communication.

 

 

 

 

 

Content optimization

 

If the intention is to optimize the social media presence of a company or brand in the medium to long term, the plan should include a monitoring process lasting six to twelve months, which documents the performance of topics and channels. The outcome provides insights into such matters as which content appeals to the target group and what mood dominates within the target group. An intelligent evaluation of these insights makes it possible to adjust channels and platforms along the customer journey to suit the specific needs of the target groups, including country-specific measures.

 

 

 

 

Conclusion

 

When used strategically, social listening offers versatile opportunities to test communication in the virtual environment for resonance and acceptance. In the long term, intelligent social listening allows measures to be planned and directed in the best possible way for the target group.

bottom of page

SOCIAL LISTENING STRATEGISCH NUTZEN

12.08.2021
LESEDAUER: 4 MIN
AUTOREN: Christoph Witte, Gründer und Geschäftsführer
PinkTank_Insight_Social-Listening.png

Digital Strategy

Wie findet man heraus, was die Welt über die eigene Company, Brand, das Portfolio oder die Kampagne sagt? In Social Media Channels und Online News? Indem man hinhört.

In der Health-Kommunikation bewegen wir uns in einem wettbewerbsintensiven und stark reglementierten Umfeld. Um die Akzeptanz der eigenen Marke und Kommunikation im digitalen Raum auszuloten und zu interpretieren, was die Zielgruppen bewegt, ist Social Listening perfekt: Es spiegelt, wie Patienten und Angehörige über uns sprechen. Doch wie konzipiert man ein Social Listening effizient und wertschöpfend ?

Startpunkt = Zielsetzung

 

Entscheidend für die Planung ist das strategische Ziel. Möchte man eher kurzfristig den Erfolg einer Kampagne analysieren oder perspektivisch seine Social Media-Präsenz(en) optimieren? Ein spezialisierter Agenturpartner, der Erfahrung hat mit führenden Social Listening Plattformen wie Brandwatch, NetBase Quid, Sprinklr oder Talkwalker, hilft weiter. Der nächste Schritt ist ein Kick-off-Meeting mit allen Beteiligten aus Marketing, Digital- und Social Media-Team, um das Social Listening gemeinsam zu gestalten.

 

 

 

 

 

Campaign Measurement

 

Idealerweise startet das Social Listening in zeitlicher Nähe einer Kampagne und läuft gut zwei bis 4 Monate. Wichtige Begriffe und Parameter werden definiert, um eine Grundlage für messbare Ergebnisse zu schaffen, u. a. Indikation plus Key Words, Brandname und Wettbewerb. Am Ende lassen sich Erfolgsindikatoren klar benennen: Wie kommt die Botschaft an, wie sieht die Reichweite aus, was sagt der Share of Voice? Am Ende der Laufzeit steht ein umfassender Report, der den quantitativen und qualitativen Erfolg der Kommunikation abbildet.

 

 

 

 

 

Content Optimization

 

Möchte man die Social Media Präsenz einer Company oder Brand mittel- bis langfristig optimieren, plant man mit einem sechs bis zwölf Monate angelegten Monitoring, um die Performance von Topics und Channels zu dokumentieren. Das Outcome gibt unter anderem Aufschluss darüber, welcher Content bei der Zielgruppe punktet und welche Stimmung innerhalb der Zielgruppe vorherrscht. Mit einer intelligenten Auswertung dieser Insights können Channels und Plattformen gezielt an die Bedürfnisse der Zielgruppen entlang der Customer Journey anpasst werden, auch länderspezifisch.

 

 

 

 

 

Fazit

 

Strategisch eingesetzt bietet Social Listening vielfältige Möglichkeiten, Kommunikation im virtuellen Raum auf Resonanz und Akzeptanz zu überprüfen. Langfristig erlaubt ein intelligent aufgesetztes Social Listening die optimale Planung und Ausrichtung der Maßnahmen, passend zur Zielgruppe.