top of page

MOVING IMAGES
MOVE PEOPLE

08/12/2021
READING TIME: 2 MIN
AUTHORS: Christoph Witte, Founder and Managing Director
PinkTank_Insight_Storytelling.png

Storytelling for rare conditions

When it comes to disease awareness, well-made cinematic storytelling reaches hearts and minds.

The same applies to all communication around

rare conditions.

In Germany alone, some four million people live with a rare condition. They often endure many years of suffering before they even get a clear diagnosis. Companies that want to provide medications with orphan drug status can use disease awareness campaigns to make an important contribution to bringing patients and specialist doctors together.

Lights, camera, action: Patients tell their story

 

Video is unlike any other medium in its ability to move people by conveying information with emotion and evoking moods. Patients and their families tend to be real experts in their own rare condition.

These people know from experience how it feels to be desperately searching for a root cause with ambiguous symptoms. Meanwhile, doctors and other medical professionals also benefit from

hearing patient insights.

 

 

 

 

 

Authentic storytelling appeals to target groups

 

What’s the best way to tell patient stories through film? The main priority is always the health and well-being of the protagonists. For agencies, this means getting to know every aspect of the disease so they can communicate properly with the patients and create a credible film concept. Success comes when the concept focuses entirely on the personality of the patient, allowing for all the possible limitations imposed by the condition. Another key factor is making sure the chemistry is right between the protagonist and the agency.

 

 

 

 

 

Preparation is key

 

Cinematic storytelling with patients is a complex process that demands a high degree of empathy and flexibility on the part of the client and the agency. From the outset, the various formats and target groups must be taken into account. Alongside the patient film for the disease awareness website and non-standard formats for social media channels and PR (naturally in full compliance with the laws on advertising in the field of healthcare), a short film is often used to provide internal motivation within the company, plus a version for medical professionals, in which the drug can also be named.

 

 

 

 

 

Conclusion

 

Video is the medium of choice when it comes to raising awareness of a rare condition. This is best done by means of an authentic patient story – devised and implemented by an agency partner with in-depth medical expertise and special competence in cinematic storytelling.

bottom of page

BEWEGTBILD
BEWEGT MENSCHEN

12.08.2021
LESEDAUER: 2 MIN
AUTOREN: Christoph Witte, Gründer und Geschäftsführer
PinkTank_Insight_Storytelling.png

Storytelling für seltene Erkrankungen

Wenn es um Disease Awareness geht, erreicht filmisch gut umgesetztes Storytelling Köpfe und Herzen der Menschen. Das gilt auch für die Kommunikation zu Seltenen Erkrankungen.

Allein in Deutschland leben etwa vier Millionen Menschen mit einer Seltenen Erkrankung. Oft haben sie lange Leidenswege hinter sich, bis überhaupt eine gesicherte Diagnose im Raum steht. Unternehmen, die Medikamente mit „Orphan Drug“-Status zur Verfügung stellen, können mit Disease-Awareness-Kampagnen einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten, damit Betroffene und spezialisierte Ärzte zusammenfinden.

Film ab: Patienten erzählen

 

Wie kein anderes Medium schafft es Bewegtbild, Wissenswertes emotional zu vermitteln, Stimmungen zu transportieren und damit Menschen zu bewegen. Patienten sind meist echte Experten ihrer Seltenen Erkrankung, ebenso Angehörige. Aus eigener Erfahrung wissen diese Menschen, wie es sich anfühlt, hilflos mit unklaren Symptomen auf Ursachenforschung zu gehen. Und nicht zuletzt bei Ärzten und medizinischem Fachpersonal machen Patienten-Insights einen Punkt.

 

 

 

 

 

Authentisches Storytelling trifft Zielgruppe

 

Wie lassen sich Patienten-Geschichten filmisch umsetzen? Oberste Priorität haben Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden des Protagonisten. Für Agenturen heißt das: Einarbeiten in das Erkrankungsbild mit allen Facetten, um mit dem Patienten wertschätzend kommunizieren und ein glaubwürdiges Filmkonzept umsetzen zu können. Es hat sich bewährt, bei der Konzeption ganz auf die Patienten-Persönlichkeit einzugehen, unter Berücksichtigung aller möglichen Einschränkungen durch die Erkrankung. Entscheidend ist auch, dass die „Chemie stimmt“ zwischen Protagonist und Agentur.

 

 

 

 

 

Gut vorbereitet in den Dreh

 

Filmisches Storytelling mit Patienten ist aufwändig und erfordert ein hohes Maß an Empathie und Flexibilität seitens Auftraggeber und Agentur. Und: Schon bei der Konzeption müssen die verschiedenen Formate und Zielgruppen berücksichtigt werden. Neben dem Patienten-Film für die Disease Awareness Website und Abformaten für Social-Media-Kanäle und PR (natürlich HWG- und Compliance-konform), wird oft ein Kurzfilm eingesetzt, der im Unternehmen intern für Motivation sorgt, sowie eine Version für medizinische Fachkreise, in der auch das Medikament genannt werden darf.

 

 

 

 

 

Fazit

 

Bewegtbild ist das Mittel der Wahl, um auf eine Seltene Erkrankung aufmerksam zu machen. Am besten gelingt dies mit authentischen Patienten-Geschichten – konzipiert und umgesetzt von einem Agenturpartner mit fundierter Medical Expertise und Spezialkompetenz in filmischem Storytelling.

Der Artikel wurde gekürzt. Um den vollständigen Beitrag zu lesen,

bitte als PDF herunterladen.